The History of The St. Louis Metro Collegiate Baseball League

1980 Metro League Champions, St. Charles Travelers. 1980 was the first year for a St. Charles team in the league. Red Jerseys, caps and stirrups with white pants. This photo was taken down the 3rd base line at C&H Ballpark, our home field.

That year the St. Charles Travelers' record was 25 wins, 0 losses. They were pretty stacked with talent, and even had 4 players drafted from that team.

St. Charles Travelers 1980

The Roster Line-up included:

Standing left to right: Mark Garret, Tim Ruesch, Gerry Pollard, Dave Schneider, Chuck Mueller, Dan Boxell, Steve Garrow, Kevin Schaefer, Jimmy Coons

Kneeling left to right: Steve Dunnahue, Kent Keiser, Phil Barringer, Steve Boland, Deron Thomas, Randy Tiefenthaler, Paul Rosburg, Chris Wilmes, Walter Ruesch (Manager)

Not pictured: Kevin Speckhals, Randy Meyer, Scott Eicholz, Mel Preiss, Norb Hemsath (Coach)

In 1980 there were 9 teams including, St. Charles Travelers, St. Louis Browns, West County Royals, North County Dodgers, South County Indians, St. Louis Cubs, Brentwood Yankees, Alton Optimists, and a team that was based in Braggadocio, MO at Don Kessinger’s baseball facilities. Every St. Louis area team would make one weekend trip to Braggacocio to play 3 games, the first of which counted for league play.